Alchemy of History-Asia

Countries like India and China both have social philosophies in some ways compare to the western notions of social behavior and structure, although in many ways they do not compare.

Overtime, as in the west, some core notions of eastern alchemy and ways of being are altered, destroyed, or just lost in the minds of men. Some traditions, rituals, and perception have changed by design. While others have seen changes because of social, economic and physical forces have imposed change.

We see in many eastern traditions enlightenment that self harmony with nature as one primary goal of alchemy. For others enlightenment is to transcend beyond material things and thoughts.

The problem with enlightenment is that it can blind perception and deafen one from knowing some key frequencies of harmony as one transcends to various states of being.

Enlightenment is not just another drug like power, position, or even knowledge to the social alchemist. Enlightenment, in various forms, is a primary element in the formula eastern social alchemy. Enlightenment should not become a prison, at least for the alchemist. For them it is critical stage or dimensions of being.

One overriding concept in many so called Ancient Eastern cultures was that knowledge of self was a part of greater awareness of the organic world in which they depended. Once that reality is grasped with humility other aspect of so called reality may be realized.

Some of the core ancient ideas to analyze in terms of social alchemy includes the following.


Types of Hinduism:
These can be seen as the various Hindu denomination or sects, but also paths of being. Vaishnava, Shakti, Saiva, Smarta (Jnana) path

Notes on Smarta (Jnana) path: Adhikara: aptitude
1. Shravana: scriptural study
2. Manana:  reflection
3. Nidid-hyasana or Dhyana: sustained meditation, merging with Siva
They are divided by ways of perception.
1. Advaita: non-dualistic
2. Visishtadvaita: qualified non-dualistic
3. Dvaita:  dualistic

Organs of Action
speech, hands, feet, organ of regeneration, anus

Gnanam: Knowledge

Vasana: ones individualistic nature

Swadharma:  activity that helps you grow/evolve in life.

Paradharma:  activity that doesn’t help you grow/evolve in life.

Students of Upanishads should develop:
Self control
Inner serenity

Elements of Being

Vasyam: to be covered.
Nama: name
Rapa: form
Kriya: action
Guna: quality

Superimposed upon ATMA

Concepts of Self Knowledge
1. Viveka: discrimination of that which is real and unreal.
2. Vairagya: renunciation
3. Shatsampatti (Six treasures): the six ethical practices needed to attain and maintain the self knowledge which is part of a spiritual life.

Organs of Knowledge

Jnana-Indriyas: eyes, ears, skin, tongue, nose

Ignorance has three elements:
lack of knowledge, experience, and understanding.  

It is the barrier between mental slavery and self-determination.

Shama:  serenity of mind

Dama:  rational control of the senses

Uparati:  turning away from sensual enjoyment.

Philosophy emphasizes Reason

Religion insists on Faith


Attachment is a pervertion of love.


Elements/Stages of Desire
kama: attachment
krodha: anger
moha:  delusion
mada:  arrogance
matsarya: envy
lobha: greed
bhaya:  fear

Desire can be like bacteria if not tamed.


footnotes:   vedanta treatise by A. Parthasarathy  vakil & Sons vmkils house 18 Ballard-estate, bombay 400. 038, India